Florida News That Impact You – September 30th, 2021

Parents Protest Mask Mandates At Florida School Board Meeting

Photo: Getty Images

Florida’s minimum wage of $10 an hour is effective today in Florida. This is the first increase to be implemented as a result of last year’s constitutional amendment which will incrementally raise the state’s minimum wage to $15 an hour. The rate will rise by an additional $1 per hour every September 30th annually through 2026. It will then reset to adjust annually with inflation.

Florida continued to make meaningful progress in reducing COVID-19 cases on Wednesday. The 5,819 new cases reported were fewer helping reduce Florida’s weekly trend for cases to the lowest level since July 14th. Hospitalizations for COVID-19 dropped below 6,000 patients statewide for the first time since July 22nd.

The Florida Department of Education will hold an October 7th hearing with eleven school districts that imposed school mask mandates without parental opt-outs. This includes the Broward, Miami-Dade, and Palm Beach County school districts. Yesterday Lt. Governor Jeanette Nunez confirmed that the state fully intends to sanction all school districts that violated state law. To date, only Alachua and Broward school districts have been sanctioned. 

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content