Today’s entry - Not even MSD is going to follow the studies recommendation to arm teachers? The 100 plus hour training requirement is a defacto denial of teachers CCW. What do the other 15 states require for teacher carry?
Bottom Line: Over the weekend Lt. Governor Jeanette Nuñez sounded off on her belief of the expansion of Florida’s Guardian program. She suggested that those who complete the Guardian program have training that’s at least similar if not greater than law enforcement. Recently I shared with you the requirements for completion of Florida’s Guardian program. Now, here are the requirement to become eligible for the Police Academy in Florida.
- Be at least 19 years old
- Be a United States citizen
- Have earned a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
- Never have been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor involving perjury or false statement
- Never have been dishonorably discharged from the military
- Be fingerprinted
- Pass a physical exam
- Have good moral character as determined by a rigorous background investigation
First to Jeanette’s comments comparing the two. She’s correct. The Guardian program requires a minimum of 112 hours of firearm specific training. The Police academy’s average is 60 hours of firearms training along with 51 hours of self-defense training. Therefore, if one approves of having armed law-enforcement at the schools to provide protection, as the Marjory Stoneman Douglas Safety Act requires, why would potentially older educators with more firearms training be viewed so unfavorably? I suspect this is a prominent reason you haven’t heard this information previously. It becomes a hard point to analytically argue.
Also, the pass rate for the Police Academy is 84.7%. We’ll have to see how that compares to the Guardian program overtime but again, it's far from a guarantee that a teacher who enters the program will complete it. As to the specific questions raised in today’s note.
Not even MSD is going to follow the studies recommendation to arm teachers?
Broward opted out of the expansion for teachers, so it’s not even an option at Stoneman Douglas.
The 100 plus hour training requirement is a defacto denial of teachers CCW.
True, but then again that's the case at many government buildings and is longstanding law in Florida. Until the advent of the Guardian program, anyone other than law enforcement possessing a firearm within 1,000 feet of a school was in violation of state law.
What do the other 15 states require for teacher carry?
That varies, the total number of states that enable teachers to carry in some capacity stands at 26. Fourteen states allow a standard CCW to be the only mandatory requirement. 11 others have varying conditions. Of the 26 states, Florida’s standards for teachers are easily the most rigorous.
Submit your question by one of these methods.
Facebook: Brian Mudd https://www.facebook.com/brian.mudd1
Photo by: JASON CONNOLLY/AFP/Getty Images