South Florida Cities To Sue State Over Gun Law Reforms

Ten cities throughout Broward and Miami-Dade counties are suing the state of Florida over a law preventing them from enacting tougher gun safety reforms.

The cities include:

  1. Weston
  2. Miramar 
  3. Pompano 
  4. Lauderhill
  5. Miami Gardens
  6. South Miami
  7. Pinecrest
  8. Cutler Bay
  9. Miami Beach 
  10. Coral Gables

They are looking to invalidate penalties that can be placed on a city that enforces their own laws on guns.

You can review the lawsuit in its entirety here:

Florida law calls for cities to be fined if they pass their own gun law legislation, along with possible suspensions or terminations for officials. 

Cities in the suit say the state law conflict’s with the Governor’s power to remove officials while also violating separation of powers and infringes on freedom of speech.

Weston city commissioners voted last week to file the lawsuit, later being joined by the other nine cities days later. Mayor Daniel Stermer said it was the only way to get the law struck down if the Florida Legislature was not going to address it.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content