An incumbent county commissioner losing a re-election bid is a very rare occasion in Miami-Dade.

It happened on Tuesday when Daniella Levine Cava unseated Miami-Dade county commissioner Lynda Bell in District 8.

The District 8 race featured one of the nastiest county commission campaigns Miami-Dade has seen in some time. Both candidates raised a record $1.2 million combined and targeted each other with mudslinging advertisements.

This is the third time in the last twenty years an incumbent Miami-Dade Commissioner has lost their seat. Katy Sorenson defeated Larry Hawkins in 1994 and current commissioner Jean Monestime upended Dorrin Rolle in 2010.

Monestime fended Rolle off again in District 2 on Tuesday. Javier Souto and José "Pepe" Díaz easily won re-election to the county commission.